



www.salempresbytery.org www.pcusa.org



Proceedings of Salem Presbytery - One Hundred Thirty-Fourth Stated Meeting

May 17, 2022

SALEM ACTIONS:

Secured Stated Supply Contract between:

- Rev. Allison Greene Simmons & Tabor PC, March 1, 2022 to February 28, 2023
- Rev. Caroline Rhoads Tuttle & Burlington First PC, June 1, 2022 to November 30, 2022
- Rev. Steve Snipes & Elkin PC, April 4, 2022 to August 30, 2022

Renewed Stated Supply Contract between:

- Rev. Paul Ridolfi & Vandalia PC, February 1, 2022 to January 31, 2023
- Rev. G. Wilborn Rives & Flat Rock PC, January 15, 2022 to January 14, 2023
- Rev. Stephen Jordan & Pleasant Grove PC, March 1, 2022 to February 28, 2023
- Rev. Timothy L. Bates & Cameron PC, January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022
- Rev. Dr. Alberta McLaughlin & Allen Temple PC, March 1, 2022 to February 28, 2023
- Rev. Dr. Will Eads & Francisco PC, April 22, 2022 to April 21, 2023

Secured Interim/Transitional Pastor Contract:

• Rev. Lisa Mullen & John Calvin PC, June 1, 2022 to May 31, 2023

Renewed Interim/Transitional Pastor Contract:

- Rev. Nancy Jo Dederer & Lexington First PC, April 6, 2022 to October 5, 2022
- Rev. Kevin Conley & Thomasville First PC, May 1, 2022 to October 31, 2022

Secured Parish Associate Agreement between:

- Rev. Stephanie Hankins & Rumple Memorial PC, December 20, 2021 to December 19, 2022
- Rev. Scott Lawson & Starmount PC, February 22, 2022 to February 21, 2023

Secured Temporary Supply Contract between:

• Rev. Steve Moss & Elkin PC, March 13, 2022 and May 30, 2022

Validated Ministry Renewal Approval:

- Rev. Tom Nesbit
- Rev. Jill Crainshaw
- Rev. Rebecca Todd-Peters
- Rev. John Senior
- Rev. Glenn Otterbacher
- Rev. Lynn Kunkel
- Rev. Blake Tickle
- Rev. Francis Rivers Meza
- Rev. Allison (Bubba) Simmons
- Rev. Alicia Wilson
- Rev. Virginia Wood

Validated Ministry Approval:

• Candidate Jasmine Evans

Sabbatical Approval:

• Rev. Marti Hazelrigg

Renewed CRE Contract between:

- CRE James Beard & Immanuel PC for one year beginning March 1, 2022
- CRE William H. Browder & Mt. Vernon Springs PC for one year beginning February 1, 2022
- CRE James Harley & Freedom PC for one year beginning February 1, 2022
- CRE James Harley & Reid Memorial PC for one year beginning February 1, 2022
- CRE Marty L. Brim & Wentworth PC for one year beginning January 1, 2022
- CRE Steven L. Braxton & Trinity PC for one year beginning March 16, 2022
- CRE Wayne Robertson & Greenwood PC for one year beginning March 1, 2022

- CRE Jeffrey Bumgarner & Old Providence PC for one year beginning November 1, 2021
- CRE Mae Weed & Lansing PC for one year beginning January 1, 2022
- CRE Sidney Crunk & Glendale Springs PC for one year beginning May 1, 2022

Minister Transferring to Salem Presbytery:

- Rev. Nicole Richardson from Heartland Presbytery
- Rev. Karen (Kate) Huddelson-Gillespie(HR) from Western Reserve
- Rev. Lisa Mullen from the Moravian Church
- Rev. Scott Lawson from New Hope Presbytery
- Rev. Joe McCutchen (HR) from Peaks Presbytery
- Rev. Suzanne Schafer-Coates (HR) from Coastlands Presbytery

Appointed Moderator of Session:

- Rev. Jodi Lingan at Covenant PC
- Rev. Ken Broman-Fulks at Dellabrook PC
- Rev. Steve Moss at Elkin PC
- Rev. Allison Green Simmons at Tabor PC
- Rev. Steve Snipes at Beulah PC
- Rev. Harold Waldruff at Madison PC
- Rev. Jennie Hemrick at Pine Ridge PC
- Rev. Joe Blankenship at Mt. Airy First PC
- Rev. Tom Nesbit at Mt. Airy First PC

Laboring within the Bounds of Salem Presbytery:

• Rev. Deborah Conner, Greensboro First PC, beginning March 28, 2022 (Charlotte Pby)

Dissolution of Pastoral Relationship:

- Rev. Russ Kerr & Rumple Memorial PC, effective March 31, 2022
- Rev. Griff Gatewood & Mt. Airy PC, effective April 24, 2022

Added to Pulpit Supply List:

- Rev. Kate Huddelson-Gillespie
- Rev. Dave Henry
- Rev. Bob Lee
- Rev. Gray Clark
- Rev. Gordon Marshall
- Rev. Vicki Jones-Johnson
- Rev. Amanda Anderson

Minister Transferring out of Salem Presbytery:

• Rev. Nate Sell transferred to Presbytery of Western Carolina

Extended Call to Minister Member of Salem Presbytery

• Rev. Nicole Jean Richardson, Forest Hills PC

Authorized to Preside at Celebration of the Lord's Supper

- CRE Wayne Robertson at Pilgrimage Retreat, Laurel Ridge
- Elder Wilborn Rives, Mt. Airy PC
- CLP Bill Rountree, Mt. Airy PC

Commissioned Ruling Elder:

• Mr. Robin Richardson & Dellabrook, May 1, 2022 to April 30, 2023

Approved Honorable Retirement:

• Rev. Ron Shive, effective June 5, 2022, pending congregational action

Participated in a Service of Honorable Retirement for:

• Rev. Ron Shive

Elected to Presbytery Committees:

COM - Task Force for Temporary Ministry and Pulpit Supply: Rev. David Smith and Elder Cindy Salter

COM - Task Force on CRE Training and Oversight: Christopher McClain

COM - Task Force on Examinations: Elder David Boger

COM - Task Force on Policy, Compensation, Mediation, and Church Officer Development: Rev. Newton Cowan and Rev. Olen Bruner

Committee on Preparation for Ministry: Elder Elizabeth Hooten and Elder Judy Unatowski

Executive Council: Rev. Rosa Miranda

Personnel: Elder Andrew Spainhour

Reviewed the 2021 Necrology for Ministers and Ruling Elders in Salem; the Presbytery was led in prayer by the Stated Clerk. **Approved** the Salem Presbytery Racial Equity Training Policy

Approved the motion that the Presbytery dissolve the Ebenezer (Ashe County) Presbyterian Church, and transfer the Presbytery's interest in the Ebenezer (Ashe County) real estate to the Ebenezer Community Church

Celebrated the 2021 Mission Challenge awards:

* to the church achieving the highest percentage increase of annual funding for the Presbytery's mission budget: *Calvary PC;*

* to the church spending the highest percentage of its annual expenses on mission: *Bethesda/Statesville PC*.

Received a thorough report from the Executive Council's Budget and Finance Committee regarding the Presbytery's financial sustainability.

SALEM:

- Participated in worship under the leadership of Rev. Evan Harrison, with the sermon focused on the passage at Acts 1:14.
- Commissioned the 2022 General Assembly Commissioners and YAAD: Olivia Carratello, Colby Hall, Beth Hooten, Catrelia Hunter, Wes Pitts, Kim Priddy, and Ron Shive.
- Received reports from Transitional General Presbyter Barbara A. Smith, Stated Clerk David Vaughan, and Designated Presbyter Jodi Lingan
- Received presentations and reports from the Hunger Committee, Peace and Justice, Church Growth & Transformation, COM, Task Force on Examinations, Executive Council, Stewardship, Budget & Finance
- Announcement encouraging participation by youth and adults made by Taylor Barner with PYC

Next Presbytery meeting will be held at St. Andrews PC in Winston-Salem Saturday, September 10, 2022