







Proceedings of Salem Presbytery - One Hundred Thirty-Seventh Stated Meeting

February 21, 2023

SALEM ACTIONS:

Renewed Stated Supply Contract between:

• Rev. Keith Freeman & Baird's Creek PC, January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023

Renewed Interim/Transitional Pastor Contract:

• Rev. Lee Zehmer & High Point First PC, for a period of 6 months

Secured a Parish Associate Agreement between:

- Rev. Fred Beck & Guilford Park PC, for a period of 5 years beginning January 1, 2023
- Rev. Kit Schooley & Guilford Park PC for a period of 5 years beginning January 1, 2023

Sabbatical Approval:

• Rev. Jeff Smith

Renewed CRE Contract between:

- CRE Jim Beard & Immanuel PC, for a period of 1 year beginning March 1, 2023
- CRE Marty Brim & Wentworth PC, for a period of 1 year beginning January 1, 2023
- CRE Sue Moore & Unity PC, for a period of 1 year beginning January 1, 2023

Minister Transferring to Salem Presbytery:

- Rev. Ann Williams Brinson from Coastal Carolina Presbytery
- Rev. Susanne Martin from Abingdon Presbytery
- Rev. Laura Arlowyn Lee Tysinger from Presbytery of San Fernando

Appointed Moderator of Session:

- Rev. John Elam at Salisbury Second PC
- Rev. John Johnson at Shiloh PC
- Rev. Frank Dew at Vandalia PC
- Rev. Pat Fletcher at Thomasville First PC
- Rev. Ray Mims at Dogwood Acres PC
- Rev. Jeff Sockwell at Bixby PC

Dissolution of Pastoral Relationships where both Parties Agree:

- Rev. Bill Hoyle & Clemmons PC effective December 4, 2022
- Rev. Changwon Seo & Korean First PC effective December 4, 2022

Added to Pulpit Supply List:

• Rev. Kevin Conley

Extended Call to Minister Member of Salem Presbytery:

• Rev. Laura Arlowyn Lee Tysinger, Elkin PC

Authorized to Preside at Celebration of the Lord's Supper and Moderate the Session:

• CRE Steve Marks in Parish E, for a period of 1 year beginning February 21, 2023

Authorized to Preside at Celebration of the Lord's Supper:

• CRE LaQreshia Bates-Harley, for a period of 1 year beginning February 21, 2023

Approved Honorable Retirement:

• Rev. Felicia Stewart Hoyle, effective December 31, 2022

Participated in a Service of Honorable Retirement for:

• Rev. Felicia Stewart Hoyle

Inquirer to Candidate:

• Meagan Kelly, Student at Union Presbyterian Seminary, Charlotte

Elected individuals to fill vacancies on Presbytery committees:

Budget & Finance:

• Elder Ronda Tatum, Logan (2025)

COM-Task Force on CRE Training and Oversight:

• Elder Rick Purcell, Bethany, Graham (2025)

COM-Task Force on Examinations:

• Rev. Nancy Williams-Berry, HR (2024)

COM-Task Force on Ministry for the Changing Church:

- Rev. Suzanne Schafer Coates, HR (2024)
- Rev. Paul Ridolfi, HR (2024)

COM-Task Force on Transitions in Ministry (Installed):

• Elder Martha Higgins, Guilford Park (2024)

Committee on Preparation for Ministry:

- Rev. Kent Berry, VM (2023)
- Elder Alice Milam, Highland (2023)

Permanent Judicial Commission:

- o Rev. Emily Schlaman Larsen, St. Andrews (2028)
- Rev. Paul Rhodes, Bethel (2028)

Property Management:

- Elder Randy Gettys, Spencer
- o Elder Glenn Patterson, Bethany, Graham

Elder Commissioner to Synod Assembly:

• Elder Lee Woods, Logan (2025)

Minister Commissioner to Synod Assembly:

• Rev. Felicia Stewart Hoyle, MAL (2025)

Jubilee Fund (Synod):

• Elder LaQreshia Bates-Harley, Trinity, Salisbury (2025)

Committee on Representation:

- Elder LaOreshia Bates-Harley, Trinity, Salisbury (2025)
- Rev. Ruth Lenger, HR (2025)
- Elder Jinx Miller, Baird's Creek (2025)
- Rev. Paul Sink, Taylorsville (2025) \cap

Search Committee for a New General Presbyter:

- Rev. Stephen Fearing, Guilford Park 0
- Elder Donna Hines, Mt. Jefferson
- Elder Catrelia Hunter, Mt. Vernon
- Rev. Rosa Miranda, VM, Presbyterian Mission 0 Agency
- Rev. Paul Sink, Taylorsville

Rev. Charlie Lee, Starmount 0

Elder Charles Wallington, St. James 0

Approved motion to suspend standing rules requiring written vote on constitutional amendments.

Motion passed to affirm the following constitutional amendments proposed by the 225th General Assembly: 22A, 22B, 22D, 22F, 22G, 22H, 22I, 22J, 22K, 22L, 22M, 22N, 22Q, 22R, 22T, 22V, 22W, 22X, 22Y, 22Z, 22AA, 22BB, 22DD, 22EE, 22FF

Dismissed (with gratitude) the Administrative **Commission #1 for Covenant Presbyterian Church**, Winston-Salem

SALEM:

- Participated in worship and celebrated the Lord's • Supper under the leadership of Co-Moderator of the PCUSA General Assembly, Rev. Shavon Starling-Louis and Salem Presbytery's Black Caucus, with the sermon focused on the Book of Isaiah.
- A Land Acknowledgement statement was offered • by Stated Clerk David Vaughan, to recognize Indigenous Peoples who are the original stewards of the lands on which we now live.
- **Received reports from Transitional General** Presbyter Barbara A. Smith, Stated Clerk David Vaughan, and Designated Presbyter Jodi Lingan
- Welcomed Elder Elizabeth Little with Board of Pensions
- Received Salem Presbytery's statement of financial position and statement of activities.
- Received presentations and reports from Executive Council, Stewardship Committee, Church Growth & Transformation, CPM, COM, Task Force on Examinations, COR, Hunger Committee, Peace & Justice Task Force.

Next Presbytery meeting will be held **Tuesday, May 16, 2023 In Person Only** (Live Stream/Zoom participation TBA): North Wilkesboro Presbyterian Church